As the Crawford Central Community Foundation celebrates its fifth year- anniversary of awarding grants and scholarships, it has presented a special $6,500.00 gift to the students of the Crawford Central School District.

A special gift of $1,500.00 was presented last week to the Caring Closets of both Meadville Middle and High Schools and Cochranton Jr-Sr High School. Funds will help them to meet the clothing needs of students in their buildings.  In addition, each school nurse in the district received $500.00 to use as they see fit to provide for the special needs of their students.

The Crawford Central Community Foundation is an independent, non-profit foundation (501c3) established in 2012 to provide educational and extracurricular experiences for students in grades K-12 who attend Crawford Central schools. It supports students, teachers, coaches, and other individuals through its Project Fund. The Foundation also awards grants through its Emergency Fund, which is designed to help individual students whose economic situation would make it impossible for them to participate in academic, artistic, or athletic activities.

Applicants include a “Pay-It-Forward” component in their grant proposal.  This component explains how those who benefit from the grant will in turn do something for the community at large.  In this way, the CCCF hopes to “Grow a Pay-It-Forward Tradition” that our future leaders will embrace.

In addition, each spring, the Foundation awards a “Pay It Forward” scholarship to a Meadville Area Senior High School senior and to a Cochranton Junior-Senior High School senior who are nominated by their guidance counselors for their community service efforts.

With the inclusion of the Anniversary Gift, the Crawford Central Community Foundation has awarded well over $30,000.00 to our CCSD students.  Forty-eight grants have been awarded, which have resulted in forty-eight Pay-It-Forward community service projects.

Photo identification:

Front row- Susan Baker, Kim Snedeker, Tami Miles, Olivia Tracey, Cindy Catlin, Jen DeVaul, Sue Mulvey. Back row, Linda Cogan, Matt Feleppa CCCF, Lisa Ramirez, Natalie Stearns, Beth Knight, Lisa Hutz, Jim Maile CCCF.

CCCF 10 2017

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s