Announcing: Our 2018 Pay-It-Forward Scholarship Recipients!

The recipients of this year’s CCCF Pay-It-Forward Scholarship are Kaylen Steadman, Cochranton High School (photo on left), and Nicolle Long, Meadville Area Senior High School (photo on right).  The 2018 scholarships, in the amount of $250 each, are given in memory of Ruth Moutsos Shreck, a dedicated member of the CCCF Board and of our community, until her passing last year.

The Pay-It-Forward Scholarship recognizes a graduating senior from each Crawford Central high school who best exemplifies the spirit of giving back to his or her school and community.

For several years, Kaylen Steadman has been actively involved in community service with her 4-H club and has volunteered in various community events. She is considering attending the new community college in our area after graduation and hopes to become a Corrections Officer in the future.

Nicolle Long has been served as a section leader in MASH Marching Band and as the editor of the MASH Yearbook.  She has also served on Senior Council and has participated in French Club, National Honor Society and the Gifted and Talented Program.  Nicolle’s community activities include Key Club;  she also works part-time at the Meadville REC Complex and at Tim Horton’s. This year, Nicolle organized a Special Needs Prom for students. In the future, Nicolle plans to attend Allegheny College to study biology and to prepare for a future career in pharmacy.

Kaylen (left) is pictured with Jim Miale, CCCF President, and David Lindeman, Cochranton Jr-Sr High School Guidance Counselor.  Pictured with Nicolle (right) is Tina Achenbach, CCCF Board member, and Mary Lynne Peters, CCCF Secretary.